Participation

Posted: September 29, 2012 in Blogs, MPM107, Week 04
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
http://www.explosm.net/comics/2547/

This comic has nothing to do with the post. I just thought it was funny.

 

I honestly don’t have anything remotely clever to say for this topic whatsoever. I swear. Buckle your seat belts….this may get boring. I’ll put another comic at the end to reward you for making it through the whole post.

I’ve never really had a problem participating in class. I find it to be second nature. Teacher asks a question, I answer it. We’re having a discussion, I add my thoughts and opinions. I’m confused, I ask a question. Simple. Obviously of course you have some lazy or boring days where you really just don’t feel like talking or you didn’t get enough sleep last night so you’re struggling for consciousness. These kinds of days can’t be avoided because we’re all human…I think.

Anyway. If anyone happens to be reading this and they believe they struggle with participation in class, here’s some tips from this website.

  • Simply agree with what someone has said. It can be as easy as “Oh yeah! I agree with that.”. It gets the ball rolling.
  • Ask someone to clarify their point, or ask for an example. This can make sure you understand and that everyone else understands. Also, it puts you into the conversation.
  • Provide your own examples relating to the current topic. Adding in your own story or thought shows that you understand the topic and shows that you’re making connections.
  • Don’t be afraid to outwardly disagree with someone. Differing viewpoints make for the best conversations, and with a good supervisor you can turn it into a fairly decent debate.
  • Answer the questions that are asked of the entire group. Don’t be scared that someone won’t agree with you or that you have the wrong answer. First of all, someone is obviously going to disagree, but this can lead to those debates that I just mentioned. Secondly, there’s nothing wrong with making mistakes. It helps you and the others around you learn.
  • Connect earlier made points with the points being made presently. This helps the conversation avoid getting out of hand and it helps conclude the conversation you’re participating in.
  • Try and play the devil’s advocate. Sometimes this can be fun, and it gets a good conversation going.

 

There you go. That’s all I’ve got for you. Good job getting through it all. Here’s your comic as your reward.

http://www.explosm.net/comics/239/

 

Signing off in 3…2…1…

*click*

Leave a comment